• First of all: Think about your privacy! All the date Clipà.Vu ever stores are stored in an encrypted form. There are however privacy aspects you should think about. For example: Do you want to mix your private clips with your work related ones? Think about those before adding just another computer to Clipà.Vu sync flow.
  • To avoid any misunderstandings: To be able to use Dropbox as the underlying service Clipà.Vu does not require Dropbox desktop client being installed on the same computer at all. All you need is a valid Dropbox account and the connection procedure Clipà.Vu app offers you. All will work perfectly even if Dropbox client (the one that normally sits in your tray area) is not installed. This article is however about the situation when it is installed and it produces unnecessary notifications.

You might experience many annoying Dropbox notifications…

Dropbox is an amazing service but with many amazing features but one of them can become a problem for you. If Dropbox desktop client is installed on your computer you will be notified about every single Dropbox change. That is very useful if you work with your Dropbox files directly, it can however become quite disturbing if used by any 3rd party app (Clipà.Vu in this case) as its underlying cloud service. We have contacted Dropbox support with the request to mute these notification. Unfortunately this request does not seem to get much priority yet.

At the moment there are two ways how to get rid of those…

1) Disable Clipà.Vu file sync notifications selectively – Recommended

Disable Clipà.Vu files sync
  • This is the recommended method that has zero impact on any other Dropbox notifications

  • The following steps describe Dropbox application settings, not Clipà.Vu settings.

  • Find Dropbox settings dialog – usually via their Windows tray icon

  • Open Dropbox settings

  • Navigate to Account > Selective Sync…
  • Uncheck “Apps > Clipà.Vu Clipboard”

2) Disable synced files Dropbox notifications

  • This method will disable notification about changes in all your Dropbox folders

  • The following steps describe Dropbox application settings, not Clipà.Vu settings.

  • Find Dropbox settings dialog – usually via their Windows tray icon

  • Open Dropbox settings

  • Uncheck “Synched files” in the “Notify me about” section